Current Affairs

Here are my notes for tonight’s sermon. I had most of it in my head from my daily reading in Psalms, in this case Psalm 12, but I still needed an illustration. I knew that would be rather straight forward but the Supreme Court just made my case for me.

Current Affairs

Today’s court decision about marriage.

Text: Ps 12:8 The wicked prowl on every side, When vileness is exalted among the sons of men.

I. The wicked prowl…

Hos 5:10-15 “The princes of Judah are like those who remove a landmark; I will pour out My wrath on them like water. 11 Ephraim is oppressed and broken in judgment, Because he willingly walked by human precept. 12 Therefore I will be to Ephraim like a moth, And to the house of Judah like rottenness. 13 “When Ephraim saw his sickness, And Judah saw his wound, Then Ephraim went to Assyria And sent to King Jareb; Yet he cannot cure you, Nor heal you of your wound. 14 For I will be like a lion to Ephraim, And like a young lion to the house of Judah. I, even I, will tear them and go away; I will take them away, and no one shall rescue. 15 I will return again to My place Till they acknowledge their offense. Then they will seek My face; In their affliction they will earnestly seek Me.”

Isa 1:21-23 How the faithful city has become a harlot! It was full of justice; Righteousness lodged in it, But now murderers. 22 Your silver has become dross, Your wine mixed with water. 23 Your princes are rebellious, And companions of thieves; Everyone loves bribes, And follows after rewards. They do not defend the fatherless, Nor does the cause of the widow come before them.

II. Why?

Vileness is exalted.

The supreme law of the land has exalted “vileness”.

From the same psalm: Ps 12:1 Help, Lord, for the godly man ceases! For the faithful disappear from among the sons of men.

Ps 12:4 Who have said, “With our tongue we will prevail; Our lips are our own; Who is lord over us?”

Prov 26:1 As snow in summer and rain in harvest, So honor is not fitting for a fool.

Matt 24:12 And because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold.

III. The Hope for the Future

Isa 1:9 Unless the Lord of hosts Had left to us a very small remnant, We would have become like Sodom, We would have been made like Gomorrah.

Ps 12:6-7 The words of the Lord are pure words, Like silver tried in a furnace of earth, Purified seven times. 7 You shall keep them, O Lord, You shall preserve them from this generation forever.

1 Tim 3:14-4:1 These things I write to you, though I hope to come to you shortly; 15 but if I am delayed, I write so that you may know how you ought to conduct yourself in the house of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and ground of the truth (verse 15 describes my commitment to one minute bible studies as an outreach ministry). 16 And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifested in the flesh, Justified in the Spirit, Seen by angels, Preached among the Gentiles, Believed on in the world, Received up in glory. 4 Now the Spirit expressly says that in latter times some will depart from the faith, giving heed to deceiving spirits and doctrines of demons,

Conclusion

2 Peter 2:9 then the Lord knows how to deliver the godly out of temptations and to reserve the unjust under punishment for the day of judgment,

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in A Pastor, Biblical, Directions, One Minute Bible Studies, Spirit of the Age and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Current Affairs

  1. More and more I feel as if I were living in Sodom and Gomorrah

  2. Thanks for the sermon idea Kevin!

  3. Araceli D. Ratliff says:

    The words of the Lord – In contrast with the words of the persons referred to in Psalm 12:2-4 . Their words were vanity, flattery, and falsehood; and no reliance could be placed on them. In contrast with these words, the words of the Lord were pure. They were to be relied on. All his sayings were true and faithful. The design is to bring his words into contrast with the sayings of such men, and to show how much more safety there is in relying on his promises than on the promises made by such men. Man failed, but God would not. Reliance could not be placed on the words of even the professedly “godly” and “faithful” Psalm 12:1 , but entire confidence might be placed in the words of Yahweh. All his words were true, pure, faithful, so that even when his own professed friends failed, and confidence could be placed in them, yet there was still reason for unwavering confidence in God himself.

  4. Pingback: Church Road Trip | Directions

Leave a Reply

