Sermon

Who’s Dream, Who’s Word

I believe something that every person needs every year is a plan to accomplish a task. I believe it is one of the healthiest things you can do for yourself. The word “discretion” in the Proverbs is the idea of having a plan and the benefits touch every part of who we are. So this is a cautionary sermon as we begin to think about our plans for the New Year.

Found this online:

Chase them to grow them. When you run after your dreams and aspirations, you allow them to grow and change with you. Dreams beget dreams, so keep them alive and active by going after them full force.

Enjoy the journey. Pursuing your dreams instead of someone else’s takes you on a very personal journey. The end game isn’t always what it’s cracked up to be. It may sound trite, but life really is a journey, not a destination. And the choice for which direction to take is always yours.

Be uniquely you. People are people and the human experience has plenty of commonalities, but there really is nobody like you. When you go after the things that are “you,” you become more of who you are meant to be. (And that’s a good thing.)

Change the world. Aspirations and dreams have fueled every significant advancement on this planet. Perhaps yours will lead to what’s next.

Bring joy to yourself—and everyone else. There’s something wholly satisfying and rewarding about doing what you love and want to do. It makes you better at what you’re doing—and a better person to be around. Don’t believe us? Spend an hour with someone living out his or her passion … then spend an hour with someone who is not.

Inspire others. Giving yourself permission to follow your dreams gives others permission to do the same. It’s called mentoring. And it’s a beautiful thing.

Live without regret. Thoreau said, “Never look back unless you are planning to go that way.” Following your dreams and aspirations is one of the best ways to live without the detrimental mindset known as shoulda, woulda, coulda.

Jer 23:25-32 “I have heard what the prophets have said who prophesy lies in My name, saying, ‘I have dreamed, I have dreamed!’ 26 How long will this be in the heart of the prophets who prophesy lies? Indeed they are prophets of the deceit of their own heart, 27 who try to make My people forget My name by their dreams which everyone tells his neighbor, as their fathers forgot My name for Baal. 28 “The prophet who has a dream, let him tell a dream; And he who has My word, let him speak My word faithfully. What is the chaff to the wheat?” says the Lord. 29 “Is not My word like a fire?” says the Lord, “And like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces? 30 “Therefore behold, I am against the prophets,” says the Lord, “who steal My words every one from his neighbor. 31 Behold, I am against the prophets,” says the Lord, “who use their tongues and say, ‘He says.’ 32 Behold, I am against those who prophesy false dreams,” says the Lord, “and tell them, and cause My people to err by their lies and by their recklessness.

I. What to believe?

“I have dreamed a dream”.

“Prophecy lies”

“deceit of their own heart”

“Try to make My people forget my Name”

“I am against the prophets”

“steal my words”

“cause My people to err by their lies and their recklessness”

Verses:

28 “The prophet who has a dream, let him tell a dream; And he who has My word, let him speak My word faithfully. What is the chaff to the wheat?” says the Lord. 29 “Is not My word like a fire?” says the Lord, “And like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?

 2 Thess 2:9-12       1 Tim 4:1-3   2 Tim 4:3-5

II. My dream trumps God’s word

One of the more sobering verses in scripture when we want to believe we are the captain’s of our fate.

James 4:13-17 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit”; 14 whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. 15 Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.” 16 But now you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. 17 Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.

III. Lining up my dreams (the desires of my heart) with God’s word

Prov 29:18 Where there is no vision, the people perish:

Isa 28:7 But they also have erred through wine, And through intoxicating drink are out of the way; The priest and the prophet have erred through intoxicating drink, They are swallowed up by wine, They are out of the way through intoxicating drink; They err in vision, they stumble in judgment.

Hab 2:2-4 Then the Lord answered me and said: “Write the vision And make it plain on tablets, That he may run who reads it. 3 For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; Because it will surely come, It will not tarry. 4 “Behold the proud, His soul is not upright in him; But the just shall live by his faith.

Joel 2:28-29 “And it shall come to pass afterward That I will pour out My Spirit on all flesh; Your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,Your old men shall dream dreams, Your young men shall see visions. 29 And also on My menservants and on My maidservants I will pour out My Spirit in those days.

Conclusion         Dream big with an enlarged heart.

Ps 37:3-7 Trust in the Lord, and do good; Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. 4 Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart. 5 Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, And He shall bring it to pass. 6 He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light, And your justice as the noonday. 7 Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him;

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

