The Battle Hymn of the Republic

I can see this march through memory lane of Steyn’s writings might not be healthy for my pastoral endeavors. Here is another one.

I started reading Mark Steyn’s articles in the British Spectator when I first went to Zambia and was desperate for reading materials. The Spectator was available for seemingly exorbitant prices, but my hunger drove me on. Books were beyond reach financially at that time. So I read the high brow articles and couldn’t wait to read Mark’s work, he seemed to be the barbarian among them. Anyways, that’s it. I did purchase signed copies of his books to give to Laura Michelle, I think I have given all my girls an appreciation for his writing. He has been put through the ringer over the years and has lost some of the hope he had, but there is always hope in the second wind that God might give him.

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

