Something’s Different

I have lived here in Sparta for almost three years now. I have knocked on every door in town or put a flyer on the door a couple of times now. I would say most people are non-caring with a few people angry at our church or church in general.

This last week has been different. I found a general agreement that something is going on in the world and a willingness to let me have my say. Quite a difference from polite acceptance of a flyer.

This morning I preached on the busyness and scatteredness of lives and how God could use that moment of us giving a person a flyer to touch them. I used: Prov 20:27 The spirit of a man is the lamp of the Lord, Searching all the inner depths of his heart.

The idea that each of us have a spirit that God can activate to search the heart when we break into a life with the gospel.

Did I say break in, I did. I wish it were not that way, but the fact of the matter is that most of us are living from moment to moment and from crisis to crisis without giving God much thought.

Met a young man getting off work and he asked me to pray for him to repent and get back in church. Met a young man who is the estranged head of the family and we agreed that it is time he does something to lead the family out of the place they are in. Met a man who we both agreed that I caught him doing about the same thing in the yard that he was doing two years ago and had a pleasant conversation with him.

I feel like the King being asked by Elisha to strike the arrows on the ground. I think it is time to stir the pot of life here in Sparta.

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Sparta Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

