Lessons from Yesterday

I have been directed to have a talk with the police captain here in Sparta. I will find out what forms of outreach we can legally do here in town. According to the policeman we talked to we should be able to get a permit to hold signs at the four corner area from the council. We will have to see how easy that is. Our churches have always battled with local authorities to publicly preach the gospel. That changed after 9-11. All of our churches experienced open doors; but I think 9-11 has receded from our memory and things are tightening up again.

So next year, the signs (with a demonstration permit) at the 4 corners of town. We will also place a single sign in each of the 4 directions departing from the square with a sign showing Ps 14:1 The fool has said in his heart; “There is no God”. That way people can get the full picture while still driving in their car.

The Christian community was so quick to call the police when they saw people with signs declaring April 1st as National Atheist Day; yet that same community is very unaware of how we have become a nation of Christians in name only. Would that same community defend my right to street preach?

My church had a beat up “Jesus” dragging a cross in a Seattle parade. It made front page news. We were scheduled to be in another parade and had planned on doing the same thing. The parade committee sent a local pastor to talk with me. After assuring me that he agreed with me in principal; he appealed to my sense of oneness with the greater Christian community that might be offended by the spectacle of the beaten “Jesus” dragging the cross and change the nature of our parade entry. After going back and forth in that sweet syrupy Christianise talk he finally took off the mask and let me know what he really thought (he was offended) and let me know that if we try to enter that same entry we would be prevented from participating by the police.

I am filled with that zeal that led David to say “Is there not a cause?”

The next month should be interesting. How can you really tell a Christian in relation to evangelism?

Luke 11:23 He who is not with Me is against Me, and he who does not gather with Me scatters.
Luke 9:50 But Jesus said to him, “Do not forbid him, for he who is not against us is on our side.”
Rev 3:15-16 “I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I could wish you were cold or hot.  16 So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Sparta Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

