Two Things

We just showed the movie “Six” with David White. It was a good film. Christian films are getting better. David White has been in several Christian films, but his character in “Mercy Streets” kind of follows him and that is OK with me. The best thing about showing a film in the church here is the reaction of the church. When one of the actors gets saved, the crowd begins to clap and hoot. I am used to it now, but when it first happened it gave me Holy Ghost goose bumps. The crowds are used to being very interactive with the movies. Chase scenes, scary scenes and spectacular scenes all bring out the oohs and aahs. One draw back is whenever I show “The Cross and the Switchblade” all of the kids go wild because you can just for a second see Rosa’s underwear when she comes to stab the preacher.

 Yesterday at church we had a sentimental moment when one of our young church members said goodbye to the church. He was a young man about 15 years old named Felix. He got saved at our very first service 5 and a half years ago. His mother died about 2 years ago putting him in a terrible position, but he managed. Then the aunt who was barely keeping him died and an uncle from up north took him home with him the very afternoon of the funeral. That was about 2 months ago, so somehow he got the money together to return to Mazabuka to give a proper goodbye to the church. He gave a testimony, thanked the church and sang a song. As I was closing service I got a whisper in my ear, and Felix was given the chance to present my wife and myself a gift showing his appreciation. There are few better experiences than receiving a gift from someone who had to sacrifice to give it to you. It was a great conclusion to a morning of preaching that touched on David not willing to offer anything unto God that did not cost him something. Felix is going to our church in Chingola, I am sure I have not seen the last of him.

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Things

  1. Unknown says:

    Greetings…I have a video of our trip for you. When can I send it? or email the address to me.

Leave a Reply

