Gift from God

We just finished a great revival with Mark Sanderlin. This black, ex-Marine brought a sober intensity to the services that was way beyond what I could have hoped for. In my mind I had been preparing the church for this revival by talking about the ministry of an evangelist vs. the ministry of a pastor. I was looking and praying for things to happen. I could talk about our outreach strategies, or the buildup I gave him as we headed into the revival, but neither of these things can quite explain the work accomplished by the evangelist.

 First of all this was the best-attended revival we have ever had. Second of all visitors got saved as they came forward at the altar call. Thirdly people were healed. Fourthly people were filled with the Holy Spirit. It all seemed so easy. All of this was attended by a direct preaching aimed at each one of us to take it up a notch.  I found myself in an uneasy state of knowing that God was directly involved in what was going on. Excuse me for using the word “uneasy”, but I think many of you know what I am talking about.

 This got me thinking about the things I had said about an evangelist before the revival. The revival proved to me the truth of God’s word. The evangelist is a gift from God to the church. What about the pastor/evangelist vs. the true evangelist? Does God anoint the man or the office? I wonder about functioning as an evangelist vs. being called to be an evangelist. It was a great revival. Let’s see what God does.

 Eph 4:8 And gave gifts to men." 

 Eph 4:11-14 And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, 12 for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, 13 till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

