Not to busy to say Thank You

This has been a busy week. Monday night men’s discipleship, Tuesday night it was organizing the Sunday School program, Wed. fasting followed by church service, and tonight the toughest meeting of them all: organizing our musicians. This might seem like an easy task, but tonight’s meeting included 14 music groups along with a choir and a praise team. I took the ideas of “One Minute Manager” allowing the musicians to make the rules by which they would practice and play. It was a great meeting and I am looking forward to having a tighter environment without destroying their creativity. When we started we had no equipment and nobody seemed to care. When our container arrived we had a keyboard, a bass and a guitar along with a PA. Still only my wife could play any instruments. We have added another guitar and keyboard along with a set of drums and now 16 different groups need to have practice time and play in the different outreaches here and in our baby churches. In Zambia it is customary for churches to sing and play at funeral houses. These are all night affairs that last from the moment of death of the relative until the day after the burial. Our young people do a great job of singing, playing and preaching at these funeral houses. We probably move our equipment to an outside location et least 75 times a year. All this to say we need to take care of the equipment.

 

 

I had a great experience today. I was giving some young men from church a ride down town. Another young man from church waved me down and asked if I could also give a ride to some ladies. The ladies got in and off we went. Informed of where to drop them off I pulled over and heard one of our young men using the word “dalumba” “thank you” in his conversation with the ladies as they got out of the car. Much to my surprise the Tonga speaking ladies came up to the window and gave me a big “thank you”. I could tell the young men were thrilled with this event. The first time I preached about manners and thankfulness I lit off some fireworks. Apparently there is no corresponding word for “please” in Tonga. There was a little bit of the you are being a colonialist directed towards me. But, we managed through. My illustration for thankfulness has been a story from Kipling’s days. In his time he was the most will paid author making, I believe, a shilling for every word published. So some college students sent him a letter with two shillings in it and asked him to give them his two best words. He responded with “thank you”.

About hansston

Pastor a church in Sparta.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

